A Poster Girl for Divorce?

I’m researching a book.  Had it in the back of my mind for a while now, and although it is changing shape without even being anywhere close to creation and may never come to anything, I am pleased to be doing it.

It is on the subject of divorce.

One of my friends is a successful writer, and has just suggested a collaboration on a book, also about divorce.  I’m flattered and delighted to be asked: it is not the book I have been working on, it can exist alongside, and is more likely to get done!

So funny, the idea that I would become some kind of an expert in divorce when:
– I never wanted to get divorced
– I didn’t do a very good job of getting divorced
– I am visibly not yet ‘over’ my divorce
– I am far from being expert on the subject of divorce

Therefore I am finding this all a bit strange and (as ever, who’d have thought it?) feeling a fraud.  (Though Lord knows enough books are written by people who are not expert and it doesn’t seem to stop them.)

But I also want to register a different little niggle in my mind:

Is my being comprehensively ditched and fucked over by my ex really the most interesting thing that has ever happened to me and the only thing I can talk about?  I’m tempted to write, Trump-like: SAD!

Oh well, maybe it’s one of those ‘if life gives you lemons, make lemonade’ things.  It’s not like there is anything else I can think of to do or write about.  Yet.

 

Image: A friend sent me this and I laughed and laughed, but I’m sorry I don’t know the source and there doesn’t seem to be a signature anywhere.

 

 

Published by

Florence Feynman

I am a middle aged, middle class woman, thinking.

Leave a Reply

